Home Page

Nursery and Early Years

The Nursery and Reception Classes are known as the Foundation Stage and welcomes children aged 3-5.  All children within the Nursery and Reception classes will follow the government Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum which covers birth to 5 years.  It consists of 7 areas of learning and development.  These include:


the 3 prime areas:

· Communication and language

· Physical development

· Personal, social and emotional development


4 Specific areas:

· Literacy

· Mathematics

· Understanding the world

· Expressive Art and Design

This  curriculum is based on children’s natural developmental stage within these areas, using the play facilities provided.  With a common curriculum the transition between Nursery and Reception is easier for the children and helps to prepare every individual for mainstream school.


·  To create a centre of excellence for Early Years teaching

·  To provide the highest possible quality of learning environment

·  To provide a resource for the early identification of pupils with special needs

·   To provide a facility for parents to receive appropriate support to include:

(i)   preparing for school

(ii)  parenting skills

(iii) basic skills

(iv) routes to training.